RSS

1.8.11 ~ 8/365

08 Jan

Mother Nature is at it again! What was supposed to be a flurry has turned into a predicted 3-6 inch snowstorm. I’m enjoying this snowfall much more than the bohemith blizzard we got 2 weeks ago. First of all, its a gentle falling snow- not a windy whirlwind, and second of all—its sticking to everything, including the trees, which makes it quite picturesque.

After my failed attempt at building a snowman (I had a great idea too- I was going to do a tropical snowman!), I decided to just grab my camera and walk around my yard to see what I could get. I just finished reading “Understanding Exposure” and I had all these high hopes of playing with my shutter speed to “slow” the flakes so they looked like long white streaks. I failed. What I got was waaaaay overexposed, washed out pictures with a few white lines in them. I even used the -/+ button to make the pictures darker, and changed my ISO to 200.

Anyway, everyone knows I love my Jeep, so she was the subject of today’s photo “experiment”. Even though the picture came out horrible, I had some fun playing with it in Picnik.

By now, you know me, and know that I can’t just post one picture a day. Here’s my “real” picture for the day.

“Old Man Winter’s Fingers”

A lone flower

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

7 responses to “1.8.11 ~ 8/365

  1. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    January 8, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    This is a much nicer snowfall, so soft and pretty. It looks like a winter wonderland.

     
  2. Heather

    January 9, 2011 at 2:12 am

    awesome icicles! We’re due for some ice and snow here, I can’t wait to take some snow pictures!

     
  3. karren hubrich

    January 9, 2011 at 3:49 am

    Those icicles actually DO look like fingers. I can even see knuckles!! i edit in picnik too …. until I learn Lightroom.

     
  4. Marni

    January 9, 2011 at 3:50 am

    These photos are wonderful! I love your title of the old man’s fingers too. Too cute!

    I too am playing along with the Project 365! I would love it if you would come over to my place and check it out. 🙂
    http://marnispics.blogspot.com

     
  5. Trisha

    January 9, 2011 at 6:01 am

    I love the first one of the Jeep! Great colors. Like the icicles too.

     
  6. Courtney

    January 9, 2011 at 7:16 am

    Yikes! That ice does look like fingers. Creepy :O)

     
  7. The Clip Cafe

    January 9, 2011 at 1:55 pm

    Nice very nice! I am finding it hard to do one a day too 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
