RSS

1.13.11 ~ 13/365

13 Jan

“I Learned” Thursday

I learned… that I’ve really learned a lot about photography!
Let me explain. The other day, I was cleaning out my desk, and I came across my binder from my college photography course taken my freshman year of college (Spring 2003 semester). I opened it up and began paging through my inserts of negatives (we used B&W film and developed it ourselves!), the course syllabus, my pages of notes (more about that in a second…), and came across my first test. I almost fell over when I saw it. I had gotten a 73 on a photography test! I FAILED a photography test! You are talking about someone who almost re-took a psych class just because she got a B in it and it would ruin her 4.0 average. I started cracking up when I read the questions on the test–I clearly didn’t understand the whole aperture buisness…and the technicalities of Photoshop? Forget it! I couldn’t even “List three of the selection tools” (question number 13).

After I got done laughing at myself over the test, I went back to look at my notes. No wonder I failed. On the day we learned about Depth of Field, my notes read as follows:
“High numbered apertures focus close and give you a shallow dof.”
“Low numbered apertures focus all the way and give you deep dof.”

On the back side of the page, I also have the following examples:
“If you want to keep everything sharp, use f/2 (a low f stop). If you want to throw the background out of focus, use f/16 (a high f stop).”
At least I was consistently wrong…

I guess all my doodles around the edge of the page and notes back and forth with my roommate (who was also in the class) on the bottom of the page didn’t help my failing grade. Or did the instructor just give us incorrect information? Your guess is as good as mine…

So onto today’s picture. Here’s my test. With the ill-fated 73, some of my negatives from the class, the page of notes with the bad information on them, and a bunch of my failed attempts at photos around the edges. It was nice to go back and look at this stuff, because it really shows me how far I’ve come.

I can tell you with confidence that my aperture was set at f/5.6, I raised my ISO to 400, and my shutter speed was 1/40 sec. I did a little editing in picasa so that just the grade of my test remained in color and everything else was b&w. I also kept the grade in focus, and gently blurred everything else out (so you couldn’t read my bad notes…haha).

Check out what everyone else learned at Click It Up a Notch!

 
14 Comments

Posted by on January 13, 2011 in I Learned..., January

 

14 responses to “1.13.11 ~ 13/365

  1. Chelsea

    January 13, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    Thanks for sharing such a great story. I think that when it’s important to you, you always put your mind to it to learn! Maybe you were just off by a few years!! Now you’re rockin’ it 😉

     
  2. Carissa

    January 13, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    haha i didn’t know it was even a reality that you got anything less than an A.

     
    • sewin2disney

      January 13, 2011 at 9:14 pm

      Well there ya have it- Daner failed something.
      I’m sure I failed many more tests in college- but I never let it hurt my grade (except for that faithful Psych class I got a B in)

       
  3. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    January 13, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    You certainly have come a long way. Your mistakes help to make my photography better ~ thank you.

     
    • sewin2disney

      January 13, 2011 at 9:16 pm

      We’ve both come a long way in just the past few months!

       
  4. Janell Hughes

    January 13, 2011 at 7:31 pm

    That’s really cool that you took photography courses and developed film yourself. how awesome! I love this picture, it kinda tells a story and I love the look of the film.

     
    • sewin2disney

      January 13, 2011 at 9:13 pm

      Yeah- I wish I still had the opportunity to develop my own film and print my own prints– I didn’t realize how cool it was when I was doing it! Unfortunately, I was the last class to take the traditional film course- the semester after mine, they transitioned into digital, but I’m sure the darkroom is still down in the basement of that old building!

       
  5. Amber Cullum

    January 13, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    I often think about how much harder it was to photograph before the digital world. I have been asked what is required to be a “PHOTOGRAPHER” when I tell my friends I am not a professional one, just a girl on a journey who enjoys taking photos. People who know NO-thing about photography really don’t understand how difficult it is to create a wonderful shot.

    Thanks for sharing this story. Hopefully, we are all learning more and more along the way.

     
  6. Martha

    January 14, 2011 at 3:59 am

    I love this picture and the fact that it tells the story. I love finding hilarious bits of my past. (Just found a journal from when I was 9.)

     
  7. Courtney

    January 14, 2011 at 4:35 am

    So jealous you got to take a photography class in college! I wish I had a passion for it back then :O) Glad you finally understand it :O) Such a fun photo!

     
  8. Trisha

    January 14, 2011 at 10:49 am

    Funny! You should have those negatives developed! Wait, do places still develop those? :)) Oh & I took a History of Photography class in college. I definitely learned a lot of interesting trivia. My end assignment was to turn in my own photos. I’m scared to actually come across those again.

     
    • sewin2disney

      January 14, 2011 at 5:05 pm

      I hope so! I just built a pinhole camera, and it takes film.
      Actually- our local CVS still does sell and devlop film- and they develop it in store- which is even more exciting!

       

Leave a Reply

 
