RSS

1.15.11 ~ 15/365

15 Jan

When I first started this project, I thought to myself, “A picture a day for a year? I can totally do that!” Then I realized that at least 75% of my pictures are of my cats. (I can’t help it- they’re like my kids!) So I made a vow not to bore you with pictures of my cats every day, but rather limit myself to one a week–at most. I am proud to say that I’ve broadened my photographic horizons, and here I am, going into the third week and I’m just now putting up my first cat picture.

Abby was rescued from a shelter, and was a Christmas gift to my sister and I in 1996. He was really meant as a companion for my sister as I had just entered into middle school and was home a lot less to hang out with her, but he attached himself to me, and is without a doubt my cat. (My sister got her own cat a year later- and I’m sure you’ll see the she-devil in a future blog post).

We think Abby is part Lassie dog- he waits up for me if I’m out late, he sleeps in my bed (literally – under the sheets sometimes), curls up with me when I’m sick, doesn’t go to bed at night until everyone is tucked safely into their own beds, and has been known to wake us in the middle of the night because of dangerous fumes in the house.

When he’s not being heroic, you can often find him sleeping. That’s his number one favorite passtime.
I guess this is what happens when I don’t make my bed right away in the morning- he builds a little cave, and crawls in for a long day’s nap.

Here he is sleeping peacefully:

I had to zoom out a little so you could really see how he built his little cave. I love how he’s giving me a “thanks for waking me up” look…

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2011 in January

 

5 responses to “1.15.11 ~ 15/365

  1. Flower Photography

    January 15, 2011 at 4:55 pm

    Aww I love cats. Hubby doesn’t 😦 these are sweet shots 🙂

     
  2. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    January 15, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    She’s so sweet all tucked in the “cat cave”. Looks all warm and toasty!

     
  3. Carissa

    January 15, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    very cute. I miss my cat sometimes…I don’t miss the cat fur but cats are awesome. I got Lucy (who lives with my mom now) the same year I think….she’s old and so gray now…sad. Cats are normally smart asses…my kind of animal. I’ve just noticed this….how are your sheets not mickey? lol.

     
    • sewin2disney

      January 15, 2011 at 6:32 pm

      Look closer- they are…lol. They’re tiki Mickey- two of my favorite things- tikis and Mickey! There’s little tiki Mickeys, Donalds, Goofys and Plutos.
      And I remember Lucy! But my cat is not a smartass….he’s a gentleman…lol. Jennas cat on the other hand….

       
  4. Keara

    January 16, 2011 at 11:41 am

    She looks so comfy!

     

Leave a Reply

 
