RSS

1.16.11 ~ 16/365

16 Jan

Last night I was perusing the photography section of Barnes and Nobles and came across the book Understanding Close Up Photography by Bryan Peterson (of the Understanding Exposure fame). In the book they had a photograph similar in setup to the ones below. I was so excited I tried it out first thing this morning. It took a bit of experimentation, but I’m so excited with the results that you get not one, but 9 pictures today (I’m a rule breaker!).

The first is my favorite- so I guess it’s technically my picture for the day.
Water Drop Experiment (12)

This one is a close second for me– this is a silhouette I have of myself from when I was 4 years old.
Water Drop Experiment (49)

A starfish and some shells
Water Drop Experiment (3)

Life is Good sticker-
Water Drop Experiment (1)

See the two dots in the center? Here they are cropped– (major noise here- my ISO was 1600, and this is a fairly tight crop)
Water Drop Experiment (2)

And the same picture with a little “film grain” and “focal b&w” added-
Water Drop Experiment (2)-1

Keeping with the Life is Good theme- here’s the company’s mascot- Jake
Water Drop Experiment (6)

There’s 2 big Steelers football fans in the house, and in honor of their big win last night, I took a picture of the Terrible Towel
Water Drop Experiment (52)

This one was my first- and a total disaster- but hey- you take the good with the bad!
Water Drop Experiment (17)

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 16, 2011 in January

 

10 responses to “1.16.11 ~ 16/365

  1. Carissa

    January 16, 2011 at 4:40 pm

    very cool….interesting…..this is just with ur normal lens?

    and really the steelers? thats terrible. talk about a bandwagon team…they might as well be patriots fans….

     
    • sewin2disney

      January 16, 2011 at 4:47 pm

      My dad has been a Steelers fan since he was a kid- “through the good, the bad, and the ugly” he always says.
      And I’ll do you a favor and not tell him what you said about him being a patriots fan….
      Then I really won’t be allowed to come to Italy.

       
  2. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    January 16, 2011 at 4:40 pm

    awesome! you did a great job, just wonder if there is a way to have both the droplets and the lower picture in focus? maybe a different f/stop?

     
    • sewin2disney

      January 16, 2011 at 4:50 pm

      It was too cluttered. I played with all the f stops between 3.5 and 16. I think most of these were around a 5.6.

       
  3. Keara

    January 16, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    That is really cool. I would have never thought to do that.

     
  4. Flower Photography

    January 17, 2011 at 5:09 am

    These are AWESOME!!!!!

     
  5. Mattie

    January 18, 2011 at 1:01 am

    These are some really awesome images!

     
  6. Courtney

    January 18, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    What a shocker that the first one is your favorite Ms. Disney :O) These are FABULOUS! I love all the water shots I’ve been seeing lately!

     
  7. Trisha

    January 19, 2011 at 9:49 am

    Wow, this is crazy. Am I the only one who doesn’t understand where the water is?? It’s not on your lens, RIGHT??? My fav is the silhouette but probably just bc I’ve recently has them made of my own kids.

     
    • sewin2disney

      January 19, 2011 at 2:21 pm

      Oh gosh no! I set up a piece of glass on a stack of boxes (sort of like a table) and put the water on there (and I treated the glass with Rain X so that the water would bead up and not spread). I then put whatever it was I was photographing under the glass, and I stood over the glass to take the picture.
      I love the Silhouettes— for years I got one every time I went to Disney- and the same man has been doing my silhouette for 20-something years. In the past few years, I’ve had an annual pass and I go so often that I don’t get one every trip anymore. I should get a new one though!

       

Leave a Reply

 
