RSS

1.19.11 ~ 19/365

19 Jan

Warning- this is a super long post today!

“I Learned…”
I racked my brain for two days on what I learned this week….and came up with nothing (well- I did learn that I NEED a new lens…haha)

I did “learn” something that does relate to photography, and I think you will all appreciate it, but it just has nothing to do with taking a picture.

My point and shoot camera is an Olympus, and I got an email from them saying that there was a “firmware update” and to follow the link to update my camera. It sounded interesting, so I clicked. There were actually two updates for my camera- one so that it would be allowed to accept 4 gig memory cards (previously, it would only accept 2 gig cards) and the other update was to improve the sound quality when taking videos.

It was really easy to update- you just had to connect your camera to the computer and follow the on-screen instructions. It took about 5 minutes for both updates. What was interesting to me is that they even did such a thing- I had never heard of it before- you update your computer and your phone, so I guess why not your camera as well?

It got me thinking, if Olympus does this, then other brands must do as well, so I checked. Nikon does have an update section, and while there no updates for my model, many other DSLR’s had updates, so I thought I’d share.
Click here for the Nikon Firmware Update page

I’m sure other brands do the same. Just type in “____(Camera Brand) Camera Update” into Google.

Onto my picture for today.
One of my cat’s favorite places to sit is on the top of my sisters bed looking out her window. I walked past her room last night, and he was doing just that, but because of the dreary day we had, the way the sunlight (cloud light?) was coming through her sheer curtains was making for an awesome backdrop to a cat silhouette picture.

Here is the original picture. Because of the overcast sky, the light coming into the room was very blue.

I wasn’t sure how I liked the blue light, so I played with some tinting.

What do you think? Now that I look at all three, I sort of like the first one the best. I’m so indecisive!

One more thing–
I have a crafting blog (it’s where I used to post my “I Learned” before I started my 365 Blog) that I use to showcase items I’ve made. I have come up with a new type of camera bag for women. I’m thinking about selling them on Etsy (a website designed for individuals to sell handmade items). If you don’t mind taking a minute- could you follow this link to my post about my camera bag and let me know what you think. Would you buy/use this? What features do you like/not like? Is there anything you think I should add to it? Comments/Critiques/criticism are welcome and appreciated!
Thank you so much in advance!

Click the button to see what other’s have learned this week!

 
14 Comments

Posted by on January 19, 2011 in I Learned..., January

 

14 responses to “1.19.11 ~ 19/365

  1. Carissa

    January 19, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    I like the blue one the best.

     
  2. Flower Photography

    January 19, 2011 at 4:31 pm

    I like all three and yes I Love your bag too 🙂

     
  3. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    January 19, 2011 at 6:42 pm

    hey, I like the look of the new blog. I will have to check to see if there is an update for my camera, thanks for letting me (us) know. I’ll have to jump over to your craft blog and check it out.

     
  4. Carlynn

    January 20, 2011 at 1:31 am

    The blue one is my favorite too. The cat just pops against the blue.

     
  5. Emma

    January 20, 2011 at 1:41 am

    Number one and number three are my favorites. Both beautiful!

     
  6. Martha

    January 20, 2011 at 3:32 am

    I love the first one, and I think the turn of the cat’s head has something to do with it.

     
  7. Daniele Valois

    January 20, 2011 at 4:27 am

    Love the blue!

     
  8. sarah

    January 20, 2011 at 4:28 am

    I like the first one best too. So cute.

     
  9. Carolyn Haines

    January 20, 2011 at 5:06 am

    I like the shape the cat’s neck creates in the first one, but I like the coloring of the third one best.

     
  10. Janell

    January 20, 2011 at 5:11 am

    I love the blue sillouhette one!

     
  11. Courtney

    January 20, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    I have to say the first one is my favorite :O) I love the silhouette of your cat!! Thanks for sharing about the updates for cameras! I had never heard that before!

     
  12. Kristy

    January 20, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    great silhouette!

     
  13. Amber Cullum

    January 20, 2011 at 4:59 pm

    I must say I like the first one best too. I love the postion of your cat in the first one and the cool affect gives it a nice feel

     
  14. Gretchen

    January 21, 2011 at 2:01 am

    Good info on the updates! Thanks for sharing. I’d agree… I like the first cat capture the best.

     

Leave a comment