RSS

2.1.11 ~ 32/365

01 Feb

February greeted us today with a potential “ice storm”. The weather channel said “severe icing possible” – I don’t know about you- but I pictured the world covered with a thick layer of vanilla icing. And it wasn’t severe in my head- it was quite fun actually!
Either way- we just got a dreary, drizzly and dank day (like that alliteration?). The day needed to be perked up so I grabbed two of the brightest umbrellas I could find (and boots to match) and headed out to the bay with my camera, tripod and remote in hand.
I didn’t account for the weather on the bay when I dressed, so I took pictures in “shifts” (taking a few pictures, sloshing back to the car to warm up, and repeat). I wasn’t 100% thrilled with what I was getting, but I was determined to make it work! After 3 shifts of pictures, Trish joined me and we went to a less windy location with a better backdrop where I was finally able to get this-


f/22, 1/5 sec, 42mm, ISO 200,

Here’s an earlier shot with the bay as the background- it’s a bit washed out, but black and white fixes everything!

Just the umbrella spinning

And one last picture- I took this earlier in the day, just so I could practice getting the blur of the umbrella just right. I then edited it in Photoshop— did I go too overboard? I liked it earlier, but looking at it again, I feel like I look like a vampire.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on February 1, 2011 in February

 

10 responses to “2.1.11 ~ 32/365

  1. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    February 1, 2011 at 11:28 pm

    We’ve been out in all kinds of cold weather, why were we so darn cold today? I’m still not warmed up. These came out awesome. I don’t know which one I like better, the one with the rainbow umbella at the creek or the pink one at the bay. They’re great.

    side note ~ thanks again for taking the ones of Willow and me. They came out so cute.

     
  2. sewin2disney

    February 1, 2011 at 11:58 pm

    I think it had to do with the fact that I only had a tank top and a sweatshirt on and I only had one pair of socks! ONE pair! On any given day I usually have at least 2 pairs on- why I forgot the second pair today is beyond me!
    I came home, put on sweats, lit the fire, and spent the next hour 3 inches in front of the fireplace on my computer…
    …and I’m still not warm…

     
  3. Chelsea

    February 2, 2011 at 2:41 am

    Wow, so cool! I love the color splash with the yellow boots!

     
  4. Monique

    February 2, 2011 at 4:12 am

    How cool is this? I may totally have to steal your idea and try this – I even have that same umbrella! Haha! Great shots!

     
  5. karren hubrich

    February 2, 2011 at 5:09 am

    So cool! Very creative shots and so colorful.

     
  6. Courtney

    February 2, 2011 at 8:26 pm

    I love the first one! What a clever idea to spin an umbrella! Will have to put this one on my list!

     
  7. Janell Hughes

    February 2, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    This is awesome! I love the first one! The colors are so vibrant. I’ll have to try that someday.

     
  8. Kathleen

    February 3, 2011 at 2:06 am

    Wow…I love the umbrella picture I am going to have to give that a try. So COOL!!!! You are such a good friend to venture out in the cold for a good picture. Great job!!

     
  9. Flower Photography

    February 3, 2011 at 5:09 pm

    These are so much fun I love them!! Nice to see you 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
