RSS

2.3.11 ~ 34/365

03 Feb

“I Learned…”

I’ll admit– I’ve been stretching it the past few weeks for my “I Learned”, but I’m excited to say that I legitimately learned something this week!

Thanks to my “phriend” (I’m going to give her nickname for me a go…), Trish, I learned how to use Photoshop this week! Really- I could use a whole line of exclamation points after that sentence because I was SO stoked to finally learn how to use that daunting program!

I’ve since signed up for an online class at her recommendation, but after our 3 hour power session with the program I was off and running- and one of my new favorite things to do is to add textures to pictures!

These two little berries looked like they were in love, so they needed a mushy mushy texture and I found this one that says “Love” on it.

I’m going to attempt to sound like I know what I’m talking about here…
f/6.7, 1/60 sec, 300mm (that I can handle…)
The Photoshop “stuff”:
Lets see here- I copied the background, and did the “multiply” thing to it (I don’t know what that’s considered- a layer?). Then I added this Love texture (which I had rotated 90 degrees before hand so the word was sideways). After I layered it, I reduced the opacity to 18%, then erased the texture from over the berries and a bit of their stem. They were still a bit washed out, so I painted over them with about 65 different shades of red/white/brown using the paintbrush tool. I did about 5 different edits to get this- so while it isn’t perfect, I’m pretty proud of it! Plus- I can feel all important now saying that I know how to use photoshop! Yay!

Here’s a few of my texturing attempts from the past few days leading up to today.

One of my first times playing

Not really the greatest- but I found a Mickey Texture, so I was excited!

And two from our ‘lighthouse in the fog’ trip yesterday

Sorry there’s 5— but you should know by now that I can’t pick just one!

Go check out what everyone else learned this week!

 
17 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2011 in February, I Learned...

 

17 responses to “2.3.11 ~ 34/365

  1. Trish ~ β™₯ ~

    February 3, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    Really nice, the berries look awesome. Once you get an understanding of Photoshop, it is the coolest tool. However, at times, I still find it can fustrate the heck out of me. I know OCC teaches a class on it. I have often thought of taking it but I don’t think they use Elements.

     
  2. Kat

    February 3, 2011 at 1:11 pm

    I am working at this Photoshop thing as well, just wondering what online course you are going through! I like your texture work!

     
  3. Jen

    February 3, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    Nicely done! Looks like you are a master already!

     
  4. Kristy

    February 3, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    Way to go! Be warned, Photoshop and textures are an addictive combination!

     
  5. Chelsea

    February 3, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    So awesome, it looks like a postcard or something! πŸ˜‰

     
  6. sarah

    February 3, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    These are great. πŸ™‚

     
  7. Flower Photography

    February 3, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    Awesome to learn new stuff!! Love your pics too.

     
  8. Karin

    February 3, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    I was wondering if we had “met” before, but you’re final comment on my post cleared things up:) It’s really nice to be introduced to you, though:)

    I love what you’re doing with the textures, and congratulations on learning Photoshop! You’re right – the berries do appear to be in love:)

     
  9. Janell Hughes

    February 3, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    I love the textures! The berry pic looks like it could be a poster.

     
  10. Courtney

    February 4, 2011 at 3:10 am

    I really like the berry photo as well!! Great job tackling Photoshop! I can’t wait to see all the new things you learn :O)

     
  11. Martha

    February 4, 2011 at 3:35 am

    Congrats on tackling Photoshop…I can’t bring myself to yet. Also I can’t bring myself to shell out the money. I really like the lighthouse ones, especially the last one.

     
  12. Trisha

    February 4, 2011 at 11:39 am

    It’s definitely exciting to feel like you understand an editing program. Every time I do something in LR I’m like, look at me, I’m a genius!!

     
  13. Gretchen

    February 4, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    Wonderful work! I have learning Photoshop (well, PSE… since the full version is out of my price range right now) on my list. LOVE seeing that you have started conquering it… makes it seem more doable! I look forward to seeing what else you learn from your class!

     
  14. julie

    February 5, 2011 at 2:51 am

    I too have just recently learned how to use textures! ADDICTIVE!!! I am having so much fun with them…I try to practice them everyday, just so I don’t forget! Great job on yours – love the “love” berries shot – great texture you chose! πŸ™‚

     
  15. Daniele Valois

    February 5, 2011 at 3:25 am

    Yay. I recently took the plunge as well, and textures are the best!!! I LOVE this LOVE one with the berries! Where did you get this?

     
  16. Melissa

    February 5, 2011 at 6:51 am

    What fun! I’m just beginning with Photoshop…do you mind telling me about the course you are taking?

     

Leave a Reply

 
