RSS

2.5.11 ~ 36/365

05 Feb

File this under “what the heck was I thinking?”

My goodness– Photoshop can take over your life if you let it!

Last week when I was out playing with umbrellas, I remembered that I had a Mary Poppins umbrella sitting at home, and the gears started turning, wondering what I could “set up” to use this fun prop. After a few days of pondering, plus raiding my sister’s closet, I decided that I would “dress up” as a ‘modern day’ Mary Poppins, take some pictures of myself jumping (so it appeared that I was flying) and then take a cloudy sky picture and turn it into a composite photo of myself flying (as Mary Poppins). Easy Peasy, right? Wong.

While I do like how the picture came out- it was about 2 hours in the making- just to shoot the original picture— (picking out the outfit, curling my hair (even though you can’t see it in the end. Darn), finding a suitable place in my house to shoot said picture, and then finding a willing assistant who would press the remote button as I jumped around like an idiot. About an hour later, I finally had a picture I liked…

This picture is a result of 71 pictures shot in my foyer, and a photoshopped image made of 12 (yes, 12) layers…
All in all, it took me about 5 hours…for one picture… And that is why I’m filing this picture under “What the heck was I thinking?”

You better enjoy it!

Oh my gosh! I’m leaving you with just one picture today! I must not be feeling well…

 
14 Comments

Posted by on February 5, 2011 in February

 

14 responses to “2.5.11 ~ 36/365

  1. The Clip Cafe

    February 5, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    I LOVE it! What a process to get it though 🙂

     
  2. Melissa

    February 5, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    Your result is wonderful! Maybe the 5 hours was just a part of the learning curve – each subsequent time will be less, I’m sure! =]

     
  3. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    February 5, 2011 at 4:44 pm

    I love it! The more you use Photoshop the easier it will become. How fun is this picture!! It’s just Perfect!! Now, can you babysit for my kids? Oh wait…

     
  4. Janell Hughes

    February 5, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    hehehe that’s awesome.

     
  5. Courtney

    February 5, 2011 at 6:59 pm

    I love it! I love even more you dedication to getting this photo! I’m not sure I have ever spent that long on a photo but if I really thought about it I probably have :O) That is just fabulous! You should be so proud of yourself!

     
  6. Carissa

    February 6, 2011 at 2:00 am

    see i told u photoshop was a pain in the ass. i personally hate dealing with the layers, it should be simpler. So with those 70ish pictures u took, you could of made a flip book and called in “Dana jumping around the foyer like an idiot” haha. this would be funny. mary poppins? ehh, super nanny maybe….im singing the theme song as i type….Da da dah….da da dah…..hahaha…..if u havent seen super nanny google it and listen to the intro song.

     
    • sewin2disney

      February 6, 2011 at 3:02 am

      Omg- I don’t think I’ve ever heard you call me by my real name! I was thinking of putting all the pics together in a video….

       
      • Carissa

        February 6, 2011 at 10:17 am

        i call u dayner all the time. haha….u don’t like ur extra monikers? if u say no im gonna find this hard to believe. ur not fond of bernina? haha. u whined about being in my blog….and now ive mentioned u on several occasions….hmm…..no peep from u. lol

         
  7. karren hubrich

    February 6, 2011 at 5:13 am

    This is SOOOo AWESOME! I would say it was worth every minute!

     
  8. Jen

    February 6, 2011 at 5:56 am

    This is awesome! I love it and I love the story. I do crazy things too to get a shot so you are definitely not alone. 🙂

     
  9. Chelsea

    February 6, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    Oh my gosh, I LOVE it!! Way to go you, for spending the time and getting something so fabulous out of it!!!

     
  10. Gretchen

    February 8, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    Love it! It’s ok you took so much time on it it turned out awesome!

     
  11. Trisha

    February 12, 2011 at 1:43 am

    This rules. Seriously fun. Thanks for all your hard work. ;))

     

Leave a Reply

 
