RSS

2.14.11 ~ 45/365

14 Feb

Happy Valentines Day!

I had the idea for this shot awhile back (does anyone else plan what they want to take a picture of on a certain day, or is that just me? lol), so I was excited to finally execute it today. With today being a day of love, I wanted to showcase something I love- sewing.

I arranged my shot and snapped away. Unfortunately, what I got was a very “flat” boring image (and it looked so great in my head too!).
Photoshop to the rescue! (seriously- what did I do without it?) I had just downloaded a bunch of brushes from this great website, so I put some to use. This particular brush is “stamped” onto a transparent layer between two layers of my picture, and then embossed using one of the bevels from the effects tab. I liked how it sort of looked like a doily– and Valentines day is all about doilies, right?

Then– last week in the Sunday paper, there was an article on cutsy handmade Valentines Day gifts you could make for your loved one– one being taking your wedding ring and placing it on the spine of a book that has special meaning and taking a picture of the heart-shaped shadow that appears.

I decided I wanted to try the same- but I used my favorite Life is Good bracelet and an old Mickey Mouse book I love. I converted it to black and white because the light I used to create the shadow casted a strange orange glow on the paper and the silver bracelet. I’ve always said black and white fixes everything!

So once again- a day with two pictures. And once again- I can’t pick which one I like best. Maybe I should just do a 730 day project instead of a 365 day project?

 
10 Comments

Posted by on February 14, 2011 in February

 

10 responses to “2.14.11 ~ 45/365

  1. Kat

    February 14, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    OH! your creativity is amazing! I am definitely going to try the shadow thing, so cute and perfect for today! Happy Valentines Day!

     
  2. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    February 14, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    Once again you amazed me! These came out fabulous! Enjoy the day with your loved ones.

     
  3. Keara

    February 14, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    Very creative! I love how the objects seem to jump off the page now.

     
  4. Chelsea

    February 14, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    I LOVE the Love shot! 😉 Way to go for being creative with PP. It’s just so super cute!

     
  5. Janell Hughes

    February 15, 2011 at 2:55 am

    awesome! I did the same thing with my hubby’s wedding ring and a bible yesterday. I love how Valentine’s day brings out the cute little creative photographs!

     
  6. Flower Photography

    February 15, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    Simply terrific! I love the creativity!

     
  7. Kara

    February 17, 2011 at 4:29 am

    LOVE these! So creative.. you are blessed! Have you ever thought about watermarking your photos? I would look into that for your protection. Great job!

     
  8. Kara

    February 17, 2011 at 4:30 am

    Okay, I spoke too soon. Some of them are watermarked I see. Kudos to you! 🙂 I just had to look closer.

     
  9. Misty

    February 18, 2011 at 2:09 am

    Love your first picture! So creative. I found your blog through another blogger. Lots of creativity here. http://throughaphotographerseyes.blogspot.com/

     
  10. Jeff Heimbuch

    March 1, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    very creative!

     

Leave a Reply

 
