RSS

2.16.11 ~ 47/365

16 Feb

My younger sister is in her senior year of college, and a few of her friends play hockey for the college. Recently, they had an away game near us, so I went with her to watch the game.
To keep myself occupied (I’m not really a sports person- although, I do have to admit, watching a sport live is waaaay better than watching it on tv), I brought along my camera and my 28-300mm zoom lens, in hopes of catching some action shots. I usually take pictures of inanimate objects, and don’t usually get to practice on “moving subjects”, so I was excited to try.
I found that I really did enjoy sports photography (hmmm– a new career for me?). It was fun playing with the settings, and when I finally got them right, it was even more fun when I got some awesome shots!
I took about a hundred pictures during the three hour game, and these two of my sister’s friend are the ones that I like the best.
This one is my absolute favorite, just because you can see the puck (for some reason, the puck isn’t in most of my shots- I guess it moves too fast!), and because of the cool position he’s in.

I like this one, only because it was right after he had scored a goal- so it was like a moment frozen in time.

And because it was so hard to narrow down which pictures I liked best, I made a collage out of the others…

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2011 in February

 

6 responses to “2.16.11 ~ 47/365

  1. Flower Photography

    February 16, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    I love how you showed us lots in the collage. What fun to have taken them!

     
  2. Chelsea

    February 16, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    Yay, how cool. Nice job with the panning!

     
  3. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    February 16, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    damn you’re getting really good at this! Looks like you have panning down, now. Awesome shots.

     
  4. Gretchen

    February 17, 2011 at 3:11 am

    Awesome work! I think you learned quite quickly… and did quite well! =)

     
  5. karren hubrich

    February 17, 2011 at 3:23 am

    These are all really good!

     
  6. Kara

    February 17, 2011 at 4:28 am

    These are awesome! Hard to take pictures in that lighting? Great job!

     

Leave a Reply

 
