RSS

2.17.11 ~ 48/365

17 Feb

A few weeks ago, I mentioned that I’m trying to learn Photoshop. At a friend’s suggestion, I signed up for an online course (link is at the bottom of this post) to learn more. I’m so glad I signed up for this- we’re only 4 days into the class, but I’ve learned so many little tips and tricks!

I was never so excited to receive homework as I was for this course. Our first “assignment” was to take a picture and add text to it. As soon as I saw this picture of a tiki man that I took at a “surf museum” that phriend and I visited, I knew I had to pair it with the quote from the Brady Bunch episode where the Brady’s visit Hawaii and Bobby finds the “tabu idol”. I also added some retro brush stamps from a brush pack I downloaded. I thought it added that “Brady 70’s” feel to it.

Here was my first attempt at adding text– I liked it at first, but now I feel that it’s lacking something. I don’t know what though…lol.
(Note-I cheated- this picture is from two years ago. But it begged to have these Fifth Dimension lyrics added to it)

Linking to “I Learned” at Click it Up

And to Kim Klassen Cafe’s Skinny Mini Class
Kim Klassen Cafe

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 17, 2011 in February, I Learned...

 

6 responses to “2.17.11 ~ 48/365

  1. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    February 17, 2011 at 3:30 pm

    Excellent ~ glad you are enjoying the class. I’ll have to download some of the brushes, looks like fun to use them.

     
  2. Chelsea

    February 17, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    Super cool shot of the sun and balloon. I love how the balloon is silhouetted against the sky!! Awesome for learning too! 😉

     
  3. Flower Photography

    February 17, 2011 at 4:17 pm

    Sounds like a great class! Love your pics from the assignment.

     
  4. Janell Hughes

    February 17, 2011 at 8:18 pm

    Love the tiki shot, and I totally remember that brady bunch episode. haha.

     
  5. Courtney

    February 18, 2011 at 3:28 am

    That balloon shot is just wonderful! It adds so much with the text on it. Glad you are loving the class and learning so much!! Can’t wait to see more!!

     
  6. Gretchen

    February 19, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    Love the tiki… and the quote… and the brush strokes! The balloon is beautiful! The class IS fun! I’ve decided it’s fun to play with Photoshop! Looking forward to the next lessons!

     

Leave a Reply

 
