RSS

3.3.11 ~ 62/365

03 Mar

This afternoon, Phriend and I went to the Forsythe Refuge- a bird refuge about a half hour from home. She had gone the day before and had seen an owl, and hoped he would be back again today- so off we went!
The refuge is accessible from an 8 mile dirt road that you can walk/drive around. The combination of impending storm clouds and setting sun made for some interesting lighting on the road.
I know I broke every photography rule in the book when I took this– it’s all perfectly centered and I ignored the rule of thirds- but I love it. I had to pair it with some lyrics from the song by Rascal Flatts- “Bless the Broken Road”.

I almost didn’t post this because its grainy and not-so-great, but I can’t talk about going to a bird refuge and only put a picture of a road, can I? We saw an owl sitting just off the side of the road– it was the first time I had ever seen an owl in person. He just sat there and posed for us while we snapped away.

And just because I love Atlantic City— the view of part of the skyline (Harrahs, Trump Marina and Borgata from left to right here) from the refuge!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 3, 2011 in March

 

7 responses to “3.3.11 ~ 62/365

  1. Carissa

    March 3, 2011 at 3:58 am

    what rule did you break? rule of thirds??

     
  2. Flower Photography

    March 3, 2011 at 6:34 am

    How cool is his camouflage!! Love the road.

     
  3. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    March 3, 2011 at 10:04 am

    I am so glad we spotted him. We should have backed up the 4 miles or so to get back to where the other people were. Perhaps it would have been a better shot. Or we could have ask the man with the really nice glass to take us back and show us where he saw it.

     
  4. Chelsea

    March 3, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    Oh, I LOVE the road shot!!

     
  5. karren hubrich

    March 4, 2011 at 3:26 am

    I like that road shot too…and the words from a favorite song…it’s great.

     
  6. Courtney

    March 4, 2011 at 5:29 am

    That first one is just wonderful!! That one needs to be framed :O)

     
  7. Gretchen

    March 5, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    Rules are made to be broken right? I love your first shot! So good job breaking the rules! You’re making me really miss our summer trips to the Atlantic City area… love it there too!

     

Leave a Reply

 
