RSS

3.18.11 ~ 77/365

18 Mar

I signed up for the Joy of Luck challenge because I loved all the Joy of Love topics from last month. The Joy of Luck is also only 10 days- so I’m pretty sure I can handle that!

Day 1 ~ Gift
Prompt: What inanimate object/thing/concept is something that you take for granted on a daily basis? What would someone who is not as fortunate as you are say about your “luck” to have such a thing in your life? Think about your blessings today – (don’t focus on people for this one…that will come later)…focus on opportunity/experience/something you have/do EVERYDAY that is an unforeseen blessing in your life.

Day one and it’s already difficult! I could think of a hundred things that I (and I’m sure everyone) takes for granted on a daily basis, but some of them are hard to convey in a photograph.

I decided to go with “creativity”. The world would be a much duller place without creativity. It would be like t-shirts without BeDazzlers. Drinks without crazy straws. Photographers without cameras!

On a serious level- creativity is what solves problems. It’s what invents the awesome technology that is availble to us today.

Closer to home, creativity is my being. I live for creating things- whether it be creating my picture of the day, sewing a dress to wear to an event -or- stretching my creativity to melt a record to turn it into a bowl, taking apart an old calculator just so I can use the inside parts in jewelry or making a scale model of my Jeep out of felt.

Out of everything I do, I’ve been sewing the longest. It’s something that was passed on to me as a child by my mom, and (obviously) something I still do to this day. I guess I take knowing this skill for granted. I can’t imagine having to hand over my clothes to a stranger for alterations, or not having a one of a kind outfit to wear somewhere, and most importantly- in the summer- my bathing suit is always the perfect fit (and you can bet no one on the beach will have the same one!)

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 18, 2011 in March

 

7 responses to “3.18.11 ~ 77/365

  1. Jeff Heimbuch

    March 18, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    I’m actually pretty impressed with your overall post today! It was a bit of philosophical thinking, along with some neat photos!

    Also, I want a melted record bowl!! Haha

     
  2. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    March 18, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    I do think people who have the skill/talent to be creative take it for granted. You have the skills and the talent. There seems to be nothing you can’t do without perfection.

    *now on the this 70 degrees day it’s time to get off the computer and head to the beach!!

     
  3. Chelsea

    March 18, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    Such great thoughts for this post! And I’m super impressed that you sew your own swim suits!!! You go girl!

     
  4. Janell Hughes

    March 18, 2011 at 7:11 pm

    oooh such pretty colors. I think creativity is perfect for the prompt.

     
  5. karren hubrich

    March 19, 2011 at 3:14 am

    I love fabric and threads too. Beautiful photo here.

     
  6. Gretchen

    March 19, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    Love this! Great colors… and creativity definitely fits the prompt!

     
  7. Flower Photography

    March 19, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    What a cool shot!

     

Leave a Reply

 
