RSS

3.21.11 ~ 80/365

21 Mar

Joy of Luck Day 4: Your seven favorite material things
Prompt: I am certain that if you think hard, you can find seven materials things that you LOVE. What are they? Capture these with your lens…..the sky is the limit for this lesson. We are all so fortunate for what we have materially. We’re lucky to have these material objects. Let’s focus on our luck and blessings today – capture your favorite seven objects!

My 7 favorite material items- in no particular order:

~1~
My cat, Abby. It took him a good long time to “arrange” my blanket just right for his afternoon nap…

~2~
My camera (and its many accessories). You can’t be reading my photography blog, and not have a camera be one of my favorite items!

~3~
Directly related to my camera is item #3- all of my photo albums and scrapbooks. I’ve been carrying a camera in my purse since I was old enough to have a purse- and with it comes my hundreds of photo albums. When scrapbooking became popular, it was only a matter of time before I picked that up, and I have 30 or so scrapbooks filled with memories. Problem is- they don’t make for a very interesting photograph- so instead, I scanned a picture from an old album- here I am, in 1987 (I was 4), and yup- that’s a camera around my neck!

~4~
My car- Princess Consuela. I’ve had her for five years now, and she’s by far the best car I’ve ever owned. She’s a Magenta ’97 Jeep Wrangler, and I’ve put a lot of work and elbow grease into keeping her running. There’s a lot of upkeep involved with owning an old car like this, but it’s worth it when I can take the top down in the summer and head to the beach!
As if to illustrate my point, today she’s at the car doctor, so I scanned an old picture I had. I think this is one of the first pictures I took with my SLR when I got it 5 years ago!

~5~
Technology- I love my gadgets! Here’s my (pink) laptop, my iPod and my iPhone- definitely three of my favorite “toys”.

~6~
My Disney collectibles. I literally have hundreds, maybe thousands of Disney collectibles that I’ve gotten through the years at garage sales, thrift stores or ebay, but this was one of the first items ever given to me- its a dish that some of my relatives had purchased when they visited Walt Disney World the year it opened. It’s by no means rare (I have 3 others- they show up all the time at thrift stores or garage sales), but since it’s in its original box, and because it was given to me, it means a lot.

~7~
Material. Oh, when you said 7 favorite material items, you didn’t literally mean material? Haha.
In all seriousness- I have an insane collection of fabric- this is just two shelves in my sewing room.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 21, 2011 in March

 

8 responses to “3.21.11 ~ 80/365

  1. Flower Photography

    March 21, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    Great post love your camera!!! and your stash 🙂

     
  2. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    March 21, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    Abby is way too cute! ♥ Love the fabric all arranged in a rainbow of color and folded just right. Ro would be proud.

     
  3. Jeff Heimbuch

    March 21, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    Haha, I miss that Mickey! Who ever thought that theyd be wearing rainbow covered spacesuits in the future?

    I love that every background on your tech is Disney related, pretty much, haha

     
  4. Carissa

    March 21, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    all those electronics and its still hard for u to communicate with me. hahahahahahaha

     
  5. Gretchen

    March 22, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    Great post! Love the smurf blanket… and the kitty is awfully cute too! =)

     
  6. Chelsea

    March 22, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    So great to get a glimpse into your life and all your favorite things!! Love how organized your material shelves are!

     
  7. Janell Hughes

    March 22, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    awesome! I would love a pink laptop. I’m addicted to electronics also. and I LOVE your jeep! how cool is that?

     
    • sewin2disney

      March 23, 2011 at 1:19 am

      I love my Jeep! I should really tell it’s “story” one day. I bought it on eBay…and I only bought it because of its color! Magenta Jeeps were only made for one year….but I don’t know why…lol

       

Leave a Reply

 
