RSS

4.11.11 ~ 101/365

11 Apr

I’ve been really good lately about just posting one picture a day. I’m going to break that today…

Normally, my picture of the day is of some”thing”, not some”one”, and while I do enjoy food, flower, scenery and cat photography (I’m pretty sure that all my pictures fit in one of those categories!), I’ve been itching to take some portraits. Problem is, I’ve never done it before, so I don’t know how, or even where to start.

At the same time that this “itch” began, I started to branch my job search out from teaching jobs to more creative outlets, and started to come across a few photography jobs. I didn’t apply to any of them because I don’t have the experience they’re looking for, nor do I have a portfolio. But, the more I thought about it, the more I realized that it just might be the field for me.

To see if it really is something I could “handle”, I asked a friend if I could “borrow” her daughter for the afternoon to take some pictures, and she quickly said yes. I spent an hour yesterday afternoon running around the yard after her two year old- and let me tell you- I had a blast (and I’m pretty sure her daughter did too!). In the hour I was there, I shot over 500 pictures, and was able to narrow it down to 60 that I really liked (it could have easily been more, but I didn’t want to overwhelm her when I give her a disc with all the images!)

Which brings me to the picture of the day- and the fact that it’s more of a series of pictures for today….
Now tell me- how could you just pick one picture of this adorable face as your photo of the day? I rest my case.

Easily one of my most favorite pictures from the day:

Another favorite- an airplane went overhead and she put her hand up to her ear to hear it better- too cute!

She’s very serious about her play- getting a smile was a challenge, but I think I like these serious faces even more!

I brought bubbles in case I needed to bribe her- and they turned out to be a huge hit- I got so many great pictures of her blowing bubbles and chasing after them!

What a ham!

These are the little feet I ran around after…she was seriously in perpetual motion!

The obligatory eyelash shot!

Just a few more…I promise!

(Check out the bubbles in her pocket– she wouldn’t let them out of her sight!)

And I leave you with one last of my favorites

Ok- so if you’ve hung in with me this far, first- thank you, but second- any tips or critiques for me? I really enjoyed myself today, and I think it’s really something I’d like to get into, but I need help! Any tips, comments or critiques are really appreciated! Thanks in advance!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on April 11, 2011 in April

 

10 responses to “4.11.11 ~ 101/365

  1. Jeff Heimbuch

    April 11, 2011 at 12:38 am

    All of these shots are incredibly adorable! Great job on all of them!

     
  2. karren hubrich

    April 11, 2011 at 3:10 am

    Is she darling or what???? Good job capturing her cuteness.

     
  3. Courtney

    April 11, 2011 at 5:46 am

    What a sweetie pie! I’m glad to hear you had such a blast! Toddlers can be so fun but can be exhausting at the same time! I think you did a great job of capturing her sweet, playful, and full of energy personality. My favorite is the black and white with her hand on her face. Just adore it!! Since you asked for critiques I would say watch your focus. The one of the slide looks like the focus fell on the background instead of her eye. Let me tell you, I know what a challenge this can be cause they don’t stop moving! Also watch cropping of the limbs. You did an amazing job for your first time around!! You should be so proud of yourself!!

     
    • sewin2disney

      April 11, 2011 at 4:15 pm

      Thanks so much! I tried to remember to watch where I cropped limbs, but its so hard to remember when you’re looking at that cute little face!

       
  4. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    April 11, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    Children can be very difficult to photograph, as they don’t stop moving. You did an awesome job and should be thrilled with yourself. Bet her mom will be asking you to come back. How difficult it must have been to choose a favorite.

     
  5. Carissa

    April 11, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    okay mine next!! haha

     
    • sewin2disney

      April 11, 2011 at 4:14 pm

      I’d love to! When are you coming? lol

       
  6. Gretchen

    April 13, 2011 at 2:34 am

    These are great! Love them all!!! =D

     

Leave a Reply

 
