RSS

5.1.11 ~ 121/365

01 May

I spent this sunny spring day doing some yardwork (my garden is almost ready to go- yay!). While I was weeding, I found a broken robins egg shell on the ground, so I started searching the nearby trees for a nest to see if there were more eggs. I had to climb to our second story deck to peer down into the tree, but I did spot the nest near the top of the tree! Looks like the mommy has 2 more little eggs in her nest. We all commented how amazing it was that the bird can build such a perfectly round nest using nothing but scraps and weeds found on the ground- I would have loved to watch that happen! There was even a piece of plastic woven around the outer edge- I joked that it was the waterproof coating for their “home”.

I didn’t want to get too close to the nest (for obvious reasons), so I just used my 300mm and zoomed in. I love how the branches that are in the foreground give it a paparazzi-like blurry bokeh. That’s exactly what I felt like- a robin paparazzi! I’ll be keeping an eye on them- I would love to see little baby birds!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 1, 2011 in May

 

3 responses to “5.1.11 ~ 121/365

  1. Gretchen

    May 1, 2011 at 2:24 am

    Oh how gorgeous! Robins themselves are a little plain, but their eggs and nests are most wonderful!

     
  2. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    May 1, 2011 at 10:43 am

    What an awesome find. I am happy to hear you could ID this bird. Their eggs are such a brillant shade of blue. Keep and eye on them, can’t wait to see the little fledglings.

     
  3. karren hubrich

    May 2, 2011 at 12:31 am

    I also hope that you will post more pics when they hatch. I miss them in my yard since our big tree died. These photos are GREAT! I love the bokeh

     

Leave a Reply

 
