RSS

5.6.11 ~ 126/365

06 May

Ever since I took the pictures of my neighbor’s daughter a few weeks ago, and my discovery/learning of Photoshop actions, I’ve been obsessed with portraits and adding that “human element” to my pictures. Problem is, its hard to find willing subjects- so I’ve been finding myself digging through old pictures to find some to apply actions to. Unfortunately, I didn’t really know much “back then” (aka- 6 months ago…lol), and some of these pictures I’m digging up are beyond salvageable…

I found I had some free hours this afternoon, and with a perfect spring day (albeit a bit windy) happening outside, I figured why not practice on myself in the privacy of my own backyard?

I set up my (new!) tripod, grabbed my portrait lens, remote and a brush and headed outside to stake out a spot. I snapped a few pictures, then realized I probably needed some (gasp!) makeup to make myself appear not so washed out.

I’ve mentioned before that I’ve never been a makeup kinda girl, but I’ve been trying to improve and just got my first tube of mascara…

This is where we get to the “I Learned” for the week….

“I learned” that while I may have good hand-eye coordination when it comes to doing things like playing softball or knitting, I severely lack the literal hand-to-eye coordination it takes to apply mascara and any other eye gunk that women need. And the eyelash curler I found in my sisters drawer? Forget about it…I’m pretty sure blood was drawn as I pinched my cheek with it…

I finally wiped away stray mascara, covered up what was left with some eyeshadow I’m pretty sure I bought when I was in middle school and headed back outside.

Seriously- I don’t know how you people take these “selfies”– getting the focusing right is next to impossible! *And* I was using a remote!

Oh well….nearly 250 pictures later, and I got a few that could pass as acceptable. More importantly though, I got to play with these pictures in Photoshop! (Geez- I feel so vain….lol)

Since I’m fairly new at this, I really appreciate any critiques or tips you can offer! Thank you 🙂

Go see what others have learned!
Click it Up a Notch

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 6, 2011 in I Learned..., May

 

4 responses to “5.6.11 ~ 126/365

  1. Gretchen

    May 6, 2011 at 1:40 am

    I’m with you on the mascara… I just don’t get it! Love these shots… way to have fun and get some shots to play with in Photoshop!

     
  2. ostranderblog

    May 6, 2011 at 10:17 am

    LOL seriously you have issues with Selfie? These are great! I don’t go too much into makeup unless its some big event, otherwise a swipe of mascara is good for me. My daughter taught me the tip to not try and remove the “oopsies” while its wet, wait for it to dry – it won’t leave big black smudges. But I’m sure you meant “foto” tips… 😉 Hard to say I’m good at things but people I’m working on, your on your way though!

     
  3. Chelsea

    May 6, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    Can I just say, you are gorgeous! Your eyes are so breathtaking!! I love the first one, the best (despite the fact you can’t see your pretty blues) but I adore the look in that shot (and your necklace is just awesome!!). I feel ya with the focus, it seems like it takes forever for me. I try and focus on something and then get right on the same plane in front of it, but it always doesn’t work that easily!! You did a great job!

     
  4. Janell H

    May 7, 2011 at 1:01 am

    Honestly you don’t even need makeup! I think you look gorgeous, a lucky one that doesn’t need that kind of stuff. Great pictures. I love the second one.

     

Leave a Reply

 
