RSS

6.1.11 ~ 152/365

02 Jun

The other day, I mentioned that a longtime friend of mine is in town visiting for two weeks. Today, we took her kids to the Crayola factory in eastern Pennsylvania. I had been to the Crayola factory a few times as a child (back when it was in the actual factory where the products are made!), and to its newer location (which is more of a hands-on museum) once before, but I haven’t been in at least 15 years. I don’t know who had more fun today- her kids, or her, her husband and myself! We were definitely running from exhibit to exhibit with the kids lagging behind to keep up with us! We got to play with model magic, color wonder markers, oil pastels, water color paints and good ‘ole crayons (which kept her husband entertained for a good half hour- he deemed it the most relaxing thing he’s done in awhile). We also got to draw on the walls with markers, color on the floor with chalk and play with glow in the dark screens. And last, they have a small show where they demonstrate all the machines used to create the crayons and markers, and we got to get a crayon that was fresh out of the mold. All this while getting to smell the delectable waxy odor of crayons (c’mon…I can’t be the only one who loves the smell of crayons!).

The Worlds Largest Crayon (with my friend on the left and myself on the right)

obligatory shot of a pile of crayons!

I learned….I’m still a kid at heart!
Click it Up a Notch

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 2, 2011 in May

 

7 responses to “6.1.11 ~ 152/365

  1. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    June 2, 2011 at 9:51 am

    how fun was that ~ you always pick the best places!! Actually, I can’t stand the smell of crayons, I can’t even touch them. And I hate when they get too short and you have to pull the paper back, it freaks me out. But marker, model magic, and water color paints ~ now that sounds like fun! But it was great and you must have been in heaven!

     
  2. Janell H

    June 3, 2011 at 1:44 am

    That’s awesome, sounds like so much fun!

     
  3. Carissa

    June 3, 2011 at 3:32 am

    YAY for the Crayola factory!! Thanks for getting the idea…it was one of the ebst places we went!! haha….And you conquered a day with my kids! Anythings possible! haha….I’m missing the smell of crayons!! lol. I wanna hang out in that store!

     
  4. JennyO

    June 3, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    How fun is that photo of the crazy fisheye crayons! It sounds like a great time. Coloring IS very relaxing, I always did love opening a new box.

     
  5. Juli

    June 3, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    Love the giant crayon fish eye affect! Very creative. I find that play dough calls me back to childhood. I could squish it all day. I can so relate to your friend’s husband.

     
  6. Courtney

    June 4, 2011 at 6:28 am

    I LOVE that you are still a kid at heart! I typically don’t like photos with the crazy fish eye effect but it definitely works on that first shot with the crayons!! Very cool!! Great use of that lens to capture that memory!!

     
  7. Lisa

    June 4, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    That first shot is a really cool one. I love the smell of crayons. Takes me back…

     

Leave a Reply

 
