RSS

6.14.11 ~ 165/365

15 Jun

I have very exciting news today!
Last night, I welcomed into the world the newest member of my family…

….the Nikon D7000!! (I could really put a whole row of exclamation points, but I think you get the picture 🙂 ).

Unfortunately, it was the same night that Phriend and I were signed up for a portraiture class at our camera store. I say unfortunately, because while the class was probably very informative, I just couldn’t pay attention as I wandered around taking random pictures as I played with my new baby.

One of the main reasons for “needing” a new camera was my D50 only had ISO capabilities up to 1600 (the other reason was the fact that the D50 was only 5 megapixels, which made printing anything above a 5×7 grainy). With my new camera my ISO goes up to a billion! (Well not really, but it’s a lot!). So on the way home, Phriend was nice enough to stop so I can proudly claim that I hand-held this night shot (with an ISO of 5000).

(ETA) I realized I should probably explain the picture- because while it’s a common sight to me, you may be scratching your head trying to figure out what it is. Its a lifeguard rescue boat (with the town’s name printed on it) with the bridge used to get to the beach illuminated in the background.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 15, 2011 in June

 

5 responses to “6.14.11 ~ 165/365

  1. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    June 15, 2011 at 12:45 am

    I was more than happy to stop and was glad I was there to share in your excitement. I really can’t wait to see all the shots you get now. This is my favorite from last night. Yes, a common sight for you and me, but how often do we just stop to just look at and enjoy it’s beauty?

     
  2. Janell H

    June 15, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    Congratulations on the new camera! Love the look of the sky in this shot.

     
  3. Danyelle

    June 15, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    Getting a new camera is very exciting. The sky in your picture is very pretty.

     
  4. Chelsea

    June 15, 2011 at 11:32 pm

    So exciting! Love the sunset in the background and the boat…such a fantastic setting! Postcard perfect!

     
  5. Gretchen

    June 17, 2011 at 2:29 am

    Congrats on the new camera… super exciting! I like the shot too!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
