RSS

7.1.11 ~ 182/365

02 Jul

If there’s one thing I’m a stickler for with my photography, its not using my flash. I’ll do whatever I can- raise the ISO, open my aperture, use a tripod, etc- but I’ll never pop up the on camera flash. All I’ve ever read was that it creates harsh shadows and just “flattens” the whole image.
The other day, I found myself out in less than ideal conditions (right after dusk), but I really wanted the picture of this mimosa tree. After both raising the ISO and opening my aperture to f/2, I had no choice, but fiddle with the flash. After using the exposure compensation on the flash to lower the intensity, and backing up a few feet, I was pleasantly surprised at how well the pictures turned out- now I’m off on a mission to learn how to better use the on-camera flash. If anyone has any tips, they’d be greatly appreciated!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 2, 2011 in July

 

2 responses to “7.1.11 ~ 182/365

  1. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    July 2, 2011 at 2:50 am

    It came out amazing. I really like the leafy background, the dof is perfect, great color and focus.

     
  2. karren hubrich

    July 2, 2011 at 4:53 am

    It is BEAUTIFUL!!!!! It really pops! i don’t think it looks flashy either.

     

Leave a Reply

 
