RSS

7.5.11 ~ 186/365

06 Jul

Happy 4th (again!).
Our town held the fireworks tonight, so I packed up my tripod and camera and scouted out my spot. Earlier in the day, I did some research on how to best photograph fireworks and I’m glad I did– I probably would have used a large aperture and quick shutter speed, but everything I read said to close down your aperture and go for a longer shutter speed- so that’s what I did. Most of these were at f/16 for either 8 or 10 seconds (I kept switching back and forth) on ISO 100. Can I just reiterate how much I love my new D7000? Not an ounce of grain (that I can see) on these images– and they’re all straight out of the camera! About halfway through the show, I started zooming in to get a larger burst (the second image below), then I started zooming while taking the image (the third image below).

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 6, 2011 in July

 

4 responses to “7.5.11 ~ 186/365

  1. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    July 6, 2011 at 2:27 am

    Great job, glad you read up on it first. It made for perfect photos. We watched the show from the Shop Rite parking lot, good view and no traffic. Not very good for photo though.

     
  2. Kara S.

    July 6, 2011 at 2:45 am

    Wow, gorgeous!!! Nice job – I didn’t bring my tripod with us. 😦 But on the bright side, only 364 more days until I can try again! LOL

     
  3. karren hubrich

    July 6, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    You did a fabulous job with these! They are beautiful.

     
  4. Elena @ Selfie Magic

    July 6, 2011 at 11:28 pm

    Your firework shots ROCK!
    I love the slow shutter!

     

Leave a Reply

 
