RSS

7.13.11 ~ 194/365

13 Jul

A few weeks ago, I showed a “teaser picture” for a sandcastle my sister and I were planning on entering in a local Sandcastle Contest.
This contest is a staple of the Jersey Shore– this was it’s 25th year! Over 300 creations were entered into this years contest (in 5 different age categories), and let me tell you– competition was fierce! The creativity that I saw today (and what could be created out of sand) just boggles the mind!

Onto our creation– we called it “A Picture Comes To Life”. It is a sand sculpture of a camera taking a picture of a sand castle. We took a picture of our sand castle last week during our “dry run” and printed it 11×14 to stick on the back as the LCD screen. The camera is “painted” with a mixture of food coloring and water in a spray bottle. The entire creation took us almost four hours to complete– there’s a lot more sand compacted into that little sculpture than you’d imagine!

A picture of us with the creation- so you can get a feel for how large it was!

Of course I couldn’t leave you without telling you how we did– we came in 3rd place!!

I learned when you put your mind to something, you can really accomplish great things! I wish I could just put my mind toward some more useful things 🙂 lol
Click it Up a Notch

 
7 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2011 in July

 

7 responses to “7.13.11 ~ 194/365

  1. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    July 14, 2011 at 12:28 am

    Congratulations on a job well done. It’s such a creative idea and knowing you I would have thought no less. Bet you’re already planning next years sculpture. So sorry I missed it.

     
  2. Gretchen

    July 14, 2011 at 12:29 am

    How very cool! Congratulations!! =D

     
  3. Chelsea

    July 14, 2011 at 1:45 am

    CONGRATS! How creative you two are! Just awesome, I love the shot of the LCD screen!! 😉

     
  4. karren hubrich

    July 14, 2011 at 5:03 am

    congratulations! It’s such a clever idea , and turned out so nice!

     
  5. Janell H

    July 14, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    Wow so awesome, congratulations! Love the idea of the camera, and the whole creation is amazing!

     
  6. kimmyskids

    July 15, 2011 at 1:08 am

    That’s really, really cool! Great job and super creative!

     
  7. Courtney

    July 16, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    That is so STINKIN’ creative!!!!!!! I can’t believe you only won 3rd place!! Seriously!! That is awesome!! I love it! Even down to the LCD screen!! Love the lesson you learned!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
