RSS

7.17.11 ~ 198/365

17 Jul

I did a family photo shoot on the beach last night, (click here to see it!) and after we were done, the sun was just setting, and the boardwalk was starting to come alive, so I decided to take a walk (with my camera, of course) down the boardwalk to see what sort of fun pictures I could get. Ever since I read Understanding Exposure, I could not wait to get on the boardwalk and take a long-exposure picture of the ferris wheel, like he has as an example in the book.
Because it was quite crowded (what was I thinking- Saturday night at the Jersey Shore!), I didn’t take too many, but I do happen to love how this one came out (and I have to laugh that the kiddie ferris wheel, on the left, goes faster than the regular ferris wheel, on the right).

ETA:
In reviewing my pictures for the month, I’ve decided this photo best represents how I “clicked it up a notch” for July. I made sure to take use of the “golden hour” so there was still color left in the sky, I closed down my aperture so I could get starbursts, then I ‘upped’ my ISO so I could still hand hold this shot (there was no room for a tripod!). Plus, I switched from my normal ‘everyday’ lens to my 10-17mm fisheye so I could get the whole scene in. I just love how the picture screams summer to me!

Go check out what others have accomplished this month!

 
15 Comments

Posted by on July 17, 2011 in July

 

15 responses to “7.17.11 ~ 198/365

  1. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    July 17, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    Can’t wait to see the family shots. What were you thinking on a Saturday night!! But even with the crowd it came out great, fun photo

     
  2. Gretchen

    July 18, 2011 at 2:26 am

    Well done!! =D

     
  3. karren hubrich

    July 18, 2011 at 5:30 am

    Very fun and colorful photo of the ferris wheels!

     
  4. Janell H

    July 28, 2011 at 1:11 am

    LOVE everything about this! Wow.

     
  5. Sara

    July 28, 2011 at 3:20 am

    Fantastic shot, especially for hand held! Great colours and movement!

     
  6. Ruth

    July 28, 2011 at 5:13 am

    Wow! This picture is so much fun! I love it!

     
  7. ostranderblog

    July 28, 2011 at 5:42 am

    WOW this is amazing! This is crazy fun….

    http://ostranderblog.wordpress.com/2011/07/25/florence-beach/

     
  8. Tammy

    July 28, 2011 at 11:23 am

    Oh My! That looks so fast…hehe

    A very cool shot!

     
  9. allison french

    July 28, 2011 at 11:30 am

    What an incredible picture! Beautiful movement!

     
  10. Christina

    July 28, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    Love this! It’s beyond gorgeous.

     
  11. Carrie Page

    July 29, 2011 at 2:09 am

    This is an amazing shot of a ferris wheel!
    Carrie @ page’s memories
    kiddocarrie.blogspot.com

     
  12. Courtney

    July 29, 2011 at 5:25 am

    You definitely clicked it up a notch this month! Wow!! This is really fun and it’s hand held! Wow!! Love the starburts!! The colors are great and I really like the movement you captured! Good call on going during golden hour so you have that lovely blue color in the sky!! Wonderful!

     
  13. adel

    July 29, 2011 at 2:36 pm

    It’s gorgeous. And thanks for the tip on explaining how you did it. Up the ISO to handhold it! 🙂 Love it!

     
  14. Jaime

    July 31, 2011 at 4:01 am

    Congrats in the top 12! I didn’t see this the first time I looked through the thumbnails, but had to stop by now to say…wow…what an incredible pic!!!

     
  15. Pingback: July Top 10-Vote

Leave a Reply

 
