RSS

8.3.11 ~ 215/365

03 Aug

It’s no secret that I adore Phriend’s 60mm macro lens, so the other day when she suggested we swap lenses for a few days, I jumped at the chance to have that lens for my very own for a few days.
I’ve been considering buying one, not only because of the amazing macro shots it takes, but also because I keep hearing about what a great portrait lens it is. I wasn’t sure how I’d like a prime lens, because I’m used to being lazy and using my zoom to get the composition I want, so I figured I needed to conjole some people into modeling for me so I could practice- enter these two ladies- they were the first to jump at the opportunity. They’ve been friends forever and asked me to do some “buddy shots” for them. We met at a local park and for the next hour, I had a blast taking their picture- they were so much fun to be around, and even had a few cute poses in mind that they asked me to do. I can’t possibly narrow it down to just one picture to share, so here’s a few:

“I Learned”
Well- the obvious is that I learned that I neeeeed this lens (haha), but in all seriousness- I do have something worthwhile to share– As I get more opportunities for photo shoot sessions, I am doing what I can to improve myself. Something I set out to learn a few weeks ago was custom white balance. From what I’ve read/heard, white balance filters (that you hold up in front of your lens to take your test shot) seem to be the way to go, but at over $100 they just aren’t in my budget right now. I also read that Pringle can lids can be a cheap substitute- but after going to 4 different stores, it looks like Pringle can lids are now clear instead of white. So more investigating was done– and from what I gathered, it looks like the new “replacement” is the icing cup that comes in Pillsbury cinnamon roll tubes. Lucky for me- we had a tube in the fridge (guess what everyone got for breakfast that day!). Let me tell you– this little frosting cup is amazing– I take a test shot by placing the cup in front of my lens, and set the white balance from that– I haven’t had to do any color adjusting on my pictures since!

Go see what others have learned!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on August 3, 2011 in August

 

10 responses to “8.3.11 ~ 215/365

  1. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    August 4, 2011 at 12:12 am

    These came out fabulous, nice job! Hang on the lens for a few more days, I’m not done with the fisheye yet. Pillsbury is going to wonder why there is a sudden major increase in cinnamon rolls.

     
  2. Janell H

    August 4, 2011 at 2:24 am

    Cute pictures, I love the one with the mustaches and the last one of them jumping!

     
  3. Chelsea

    August 4, 2011 at 3:10 am

    Such great pictures! I adore the last two!

     
  4. rony

    August 4, 2011 at 7:10 am

    Great picture. The last one touched me. I can feel the happiness from them.

     
  5. Living Free

    August 4, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    I love that last photo! Thanks for the tip on the icing cup, I think we need some cinnamon rolls.

     
  6. Monica

    August 4, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    This is my first time on your blog- thanks so much for the icing cup tip!! I know what is for breakfast this weekend. 🙂

     
  7. Sara

    August 5, 2011 at 1:48 am

    Great buddy shots! How cool that you can swap lenses with a friend!

     
  8. Gretchen

    August 5, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    The last shot is so fun!! Always a fan of jumping shots. Thanks for the white balance tip. That’s one of the tricks I need to learn still! Might be needing cinnamon rolls here too…

     
  9. Abi

    August 5, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    Wow, you have done a great job with the 60mm lens! I love every single image here. Oh, and thanks for the tip! I’m off to buy a can of cinnamon rolls! 🙂

     
  10. Courtney

    August 8, 2011 at 6:50 am

    That mustache one is wonderful! I’m so glad you guys are able to share each other’s lenses! I love me some prime lenses!! I have never tried the icing lid. You can also get a gray card that is like $4 or something that is made just for WB. It is 18% gray which is exactly what your camera reads :O) Thanks for the tip though!! Glad you are learning to tackle WB! Makes PP so much easier!

     

Leave a Reply

 
