RSS

8.18.11 ~ 230/365

18 Aug

Thank you for the Birthday Wishes yesterday!
I mentioned that for our birthdays in our house, we’re allowed to pick what we want to do- usually I pick just hanging around at home, lounging in the pool, or heading to the beach, but a few weeks ago, I saw in the papers that there would be an Air Show in Atlantic City (only a 45 minute drive for us). Since starting this 365 project, I look at things differently– now everything is an event to be photographed in my eyes! I’ve never been to an Air Show before, and I thought it would be fun thing to take pictures of.

This is the largest Air Show in the country, with more than 30 professional flight teams piloting a variety of planes, and various parachuters in different aerobatic demonstrations. Over 800,000 people came to Atlantic City yesterday for this 5 hour show!

See? That’s what 800,000 people look like!

I took over 1600 pictures (well really 800- I took them in RAW and jpeg), and ended up editing almost 70 of them. Forget “picture” of the day- with 70 pictures to pick from- I’m going to have to show off more than just one!

This is my favorite picture from the show– it is a F18 Hornet about to break the sound barrier as it approaches Mach 1. The “poof” behind it is the actual sound wave (which could be seen because it was so humid out- it’s all the moisture in the air.) I had no idea it was going to happen- I saw the airplane coming in and it had this weird cloud like substance forming on its wings- I started taking pictures and just happened to catch it at the right moment. I was standing in the water with my mom taking pictures and the sound was deafening! Thank goodness the camera was around my neck!

Entering that picture into Fabulous Friday-(Think I can go 3 for 3 in the top 5?)

I did! Thanks!

Also linking up with “Favorite Photo of the Week” at Through A Photographer’s Eyes

And with “Show Off Your Shot” at And then, She Snapped
and then, she {snapped}

The Geico Skytypers were a lot of fun to watch- they “drew” things in the sky!

And

The next two pictures are of the Heavy Metal Jet Pack group:

A HC-130 Hercules

And then- the highlight of the show- the US Air Force Thunderbirds! They put on a half hour show that literally shook our feet and took our breath away.

All in all- we had a great time- it was fun to try out something new and different! We’re already planning on going back next year!
Click it Up a Notch

Thanks for bearing with me through all of those pictures!

 
20 Comments

Posted by on August 18, 2011 in August

 

20 responses to “8.18.11 ~ 230/365

  1. kelly kardos

    August 19, 2011 at 12:11 am

    holy cow these are good! I love the Thunderbirds….

     
  2. Tammy

    August 19, 2011 at 12:26 am

    Well, now I want to go to an air show! These are great!

     
  3. Michelle

    August 19, 2011 at 3:07 am

    Oh WOW!! These are fantastic! I can’t even pick a favourite! Although, I do love the third last one where they’re flying off in different directions πŸ˜€ Great job! (and now I’m hoping there’s an airshow coming up near me, lol)

     
  4. Trish ~ β™₯ ~

    August 19, 2011 at 3:19 am

    You did an amazing job capturing the show. It makes me wish we had gone.

     
  5. Susan

    August 19, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    WOW…just amazing shots. I’d love to go to one.

    Have a blessed day today!

     
  6. ldsquared

    August 19, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    Your shots are just out of this world. I agree with the others – I need to find an air show!

     
  7. Shannah

    August 19, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    Oh my!!! great shots!!! =)

     
  8. Mary Kate

    August 19, 2011 at 2:34 pm

    Those are great shots! Love the third to last one (the one where they’re shooting off in different directions). Thanks for your comment on my blog πŸ™‚

     
  9. kathy

    August 19, 2011 at 2:56 pm

    Visiting from “Favorite Photo of the Week”. I am not worthy!!!! πŸ™‚

    Kathy

    http://www.youllshootyoureyeout-kathy.blogspot.com

     
  10. April

    August 19, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    These are stunning! Makes me miss living on base. πŸ™‚ By the way to me everything is a chance to use my camera….my hubby kind of hates it sometimes.

     
  11. christina Klas

    August 19, 2011 at 5:15 pm

    Wow. These photos are fantastic!!

     
  12. Sarah

    August 19, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    I love air shows!!! Those are fantastic shots!

     
  13. Chelsea

    August 19, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    These are all awesome…you’re right, it’s hard to pick a favorite. Great job capturing the smoke out the back!

     
  14. Sarah

    August 19, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    WOW! These are really great.

     
  15. Sara

    August 20, 2011 at 2:19 am

    Amazing shots, love all the formation shots!

     
  16. Pam

    August 20, 2011 at 3:12 am

    OMG! These are fabulous shots! Great job!

     
  17. CallieMarie

    August 20, 2011 at 4:27 am

    As an aerospace engineer and a photographer, I must say you did an absolutely phenomenal job capturing those airshow images. Several of them look just like the posters they sell at the souvenier stands at the airshows (and that were plastered all over my dorm room walls once upon a time). πŸ™‚ Really wish I could have been there too!

     
  18. Courtney

    August 20, 2011 at 10:35 am

    Happy belated birthday!! How fun!! I’m glad you had fun at the Air Show! I grew up going every year and my hubby is AF so I still get to go all the time and I know he wishes I was excited about them as you are! The Thunderbirds are pretty awesome though!! Love all your shots!! So, I’m totally being noisy but I’ve “known” you for a while now, so I would ask if we were friends in real life…are you dating an AF boy?? I saw all your pins on pinterest and it got me wondering. Like how noisy I am :O) he he

     
  19. Jen

    August 23, 2011 at 2:24 am

    Your shots are beautiful Dana! You made the final five for Fabulous Friday. Thanks for participating!

     
  20. Gretchen

    August 23, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    AMAZING! These are outstanding! Definitely looks like a fun air show to go to… we went to one not so long ago and it was nothing compared to yours! =)

     

Leave a Reply

 
