RSS

8.28.11 ~ 240/365

29 Aug

Thankfully, we escaped Hurricane Irene relatively unscathed. The rain had started around noon yesterday, and continued on through the night. Just as we were getting ready for bed, the Weather Channel announced that we were under a severe tornado watch (as in literally announced the name of our tiny town for the whole world to hear- that’s how you know it was serious!). Out of bed it was and into the basement where we sat for about an hour. The tornado watch was extended through the night, so we camped out on the living room floor. Needless to say, not sleeping in my comfy bed plus the howling rain and wind through the night means I didn’t sleep all night. But, that didn’t stop me from heading out early this morning with Phriend to check out (and photograph, of course) the damages!

This was taken on the bay side of one of our barrier islands. This crab shack used to be in a parking lot- now it appears to be floating in the bay.

In looking back over my pictures from the past month, I’ve decided to enter this one in the Click it Up a Notch August Contest.
I begin “fiddling” with HDR earlier this month (See some of my earlier attempts of HDR pictures from Hersheypark here). I use the program “Photomatix” based on many reccomendations that I read online- but other than using other sites to pick a program to use, I basically self-taught myself how to create these images using trial-and-error. It’s all about personal taste and what you think looks good! I also learned that it’s best to use a wide angle or fisheye lens (love my Tokina 10-17mm!) to help capture those dramatic skies that makes HDR photos look so impressive. With that being said, I just love the colors in the above picture, and therefore submit it to the Click it Up a Notch contest for the month of August!
Click It Up A Notch

 
12 Comments

Posted by on August 29, 2011 in August

 

12 responses to “8.28.11 ~ 240/365

  1. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    August 29, 2011 at 1:20 am

    It was floating in the bay. I am sure it will be fine after the water recedes. But their boats, that might be a different story, they were sunk. Think B and I are going to try to get to the boardwalk tomorrow night. Let me know if you want to join us for some Sawmill pizza and a walk.

     
  2. Gretchen

    August 29, 2011 at 2:29 am

    Love how you captured this. Hopefully it will be fine after the water recedes. Glad to hear you made it through to the other side of Irene!

     
  3. Kara S.

    August 29, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    Gorgeous photo! So glad you guys are alright. It looked pretty scary for a while.

     
  4. Mira

    September 1, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    that’s a beautiful photo! glad to hear Irene wasn’t that bad on your part. 🙂

     
  5. Candace

    September 1, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    Glad to hear you were okay-Great photo, the colors are just wonderful!

     
  6. nat

    September 1, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    I love the HDR effect on that composition. Very cool!

     
  7. Sherry

    September 2, 2011 at 12:57 am

    Wow! Cool colors and it seems like the water goes on forever.

     
  8. Jenn

    September 2, 2011 at 1:34 am

    Wow, that looks very cool.

     
  9. Martha

    September 2, 2011 at 4:05 am

    You’ve inspired me. I am officially putting “get into HDR” on my list for this year!

     
  10. ashlyn

    September 2, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    wow. love the fish eye effect! the vibrancy is beautiful.

     
  11. Jaime

    September 2, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    Love the shot…the drama and warmth of it. I have been seeing more HDR lately. I might have to go check it out. 🙂

     
  12. Janell H

    September 2, 2011 at 6:50 pm

    just stunning! You are rocking the HDR!

     

Leave a Reply

 
