RSS

9.14.11 ~ 257/365

15 Sep

Whoever said “patience is a virtue” must not have been a photographer. In photography, patience isn’t just a virtue…it’s a necessity.
Take, for instance, my photo of the day today. All I wanted was to capture one of the last flowers of summer…with a bubble landed on it. Simple concept, right? Wrong. Who knew bubbles were *that* fragile? I’ve seen them land on things before…and even last for a few seconds. Not today… I tried 3 different brands of bubbles, then even resorted to google to find a recipe to make my own bubbles. No such luck. In over 200 pictures, enough bubble blowing to get me dizzy, recruiting my mom to be the bubble blower, and 3 bottles of bubbles…this was the only bubble that ever landed on a flower.

I did, however, manage to capture one “in flight”…and if you look carefully, right in the middle, you can see a reflection of me, taking the picture.

Of course, plenty landed in the grass….

Click It Up A Notch

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 15, 2011 in September

 

8 responses to “9.14.11 ~ 257/365

  1. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    September 15, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    You have heard me say, “the reason I am not a photographer for National Geographic is because I have no patience.” (yup ~ that’s the only reason, LOL!) I’ve been out shooting with you and know you will take way more time most people would in setting up a shot. And it shows in all of your wonderful photos.

     
  2. emily

    September 15, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    …that’s generally why theories remain theories, because people can never put them into practice. Same goes for concepts. You did get some pretty great captures…I would not have had the patience!

     
  3. kathy

    September 15, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    Visiting from “I learned”. That middle photo of the bubble in flight is so beautiful. It makes me want to try it now. So how many bottles of bubbles would you recommend I purchase for this photo op? 🙂

    Kathy

     
  4. Amber Cullum

    September 15, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    Seriously, every time I try to capture bubbles I walk away frustrated. However long it took…..you did it!!

     
  5. ashlyn

    September 15, 2011 at 4:59 pm

    Oh, that was too funny! Yeah, I’ll spend plenty (enough) time on one thing and be only happy with one. Patience is a necessity!
    Loved this post.:)

     
  6. karren hubrich

    September 16, 2011 at 12:50 am

    These are all beautiful! Patience is certainly a virture that you possess.

     
  7. Gretchen

    September 16, 2011 at 1:09 am

    I haven’t been able to capture bubble pictures… my kiddos want me to be a bubble blower for them instead!! You got some great shots… even if you did have to take 200 shots or more!! =)

     
  8. Courtney

    September 18, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    I love that you are constantly challenging yourself! I must admit I would have given up WAY before you!! Ha! I can’t believe how dedicated you are!! Impressive! Definitely with it because that is a great image!

     

Leave a Reply

 
