RSS

9.18.11 ~ 261/365

18 Sep

New Jersey is known as the “Garden State”, but what many New Jersey-ans don’t know is that we are one of the leading producers of cranberries in the country. Literally five minutes from my house is a state park with five cranberry bogs that Ocean Spray uses to harvest cranberries. In years past, many flock to the bogs to watch the annual harvest, which is actually quite fascinating. The harvest was scheduled for this weekend, so today, I packed up my camera and headed over… only to find out that Ocean Spray decided not to lease the bogs this year, and there would be no harvest 😦
Fortunately, a park ranger gave me information on another local harvest, so hopefully, within the coming weeks, hopefully I’ll be able to share some photos from that.
For now, though, I’ll share a photo of one cranberry. Yup…just one. I jumped down into the bog and saw very few cranberries, and this was one of the few I was able to photograph.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 18, 2011 in September

 

3 responses to “9.18.11 ~ 261/365

  1. karren hubrich

    September 19, 2011 at 3:58 am

    This is the first time I have seen one hanging om the vine.

     
  2. Gretchen

    September 20, 2011 at 1:23 am

    So… what happens to the “left” cranberries? I’ve never seen one hanging either… I might have to add watching cranberry harvest to my ‘to do’ list.

     

Leave a Reply

 
