RSS

9.22.11 ~ 265/365

23 Sep

The other day when I was at the cranberry-less bogs, my mom and I picked some “weeds” like we were five year olds. We had quite the cute little collection and arranged it into a little mini vase and put it on our kitchen table. Tonight, I was sitting there looking at it, and I noticed that these little mini-daisy type flowers were starting to wilt…except they weren’t wilting in the normal way with leaves and petals drooping, instead, the petals were starting curl up into little tendrils. I grabbed my camera and makeshift tripod (two boxes of Cheez-Its…lol) and set up my shot.
Its so weird- even though I know better, my first instinct is to put my camera on f/2….but then when I looked at the picture and saw only one-tenth of one petal in focus…so I went in the extreme opposite direction….this is a 15 second exposure at f/32…and it’s SOOC- not a bit of editing!

“I learned” that macro photography doesn’t mean using the smallest aperture you have- sometimes you need to push it up to get your subject in focus!
Click It Up A Notch

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 23, 2011 in September

 

3 responses to “9.22.11 ~ 265/365

  1. Christina

    September 23, 2011 at 1:56 am

    I just got my first macro lens a couple of days ago and I couldn’t believe how shallow the dof is! It’s definitely something to get used to!

     
  2. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    September 23, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    I have the same “habit” of using f/2 and only getting a small area in focus. Something I have to learn too, is to close it down. Great shot.

     
  3. Susan

    September 24, 2011 at 1:54 am

    Wow…this is so beautiful!! Love the color…

     

Leave a Reply

 
