RSS

10.21.11 ~ 294/365

22 Oct

This picture might not look like much, but hear me out…lol.
Last week, I read an article on Lens Calibration over at Selfie Magic

What? My lens might not be as sharp as it could be? This just blew my mind (for the record, I told my family it was breaking news and basically got three sets of rolled eyeballs at me…they just don’t understand…).

The basic premise to calibrate your lens is that you need to set up your camera on a tripod (remotes are optional but helpful), and an object to photograph (most sources recommend a ruler or a large garden thermometer). You set up the tripod and camera at a 45 degree angle from the object and find “lens calibration” in your camera’s menu. On the menu, there is some sort of scale (I’m not sure if they’re all the same, but mine went in increments of one from -20 through +20.) and basically, you take 40 different pictures of the same object changing the scale by 1 each time. (To make it easier, I started at -20 and went straight through the scale). Finally, view them on your computer screen and choose the one that looks the sharpest. You’ll notice as you look through the pictures that the point of focus shifts slightly (to see more of a jump, only look at the -20, -15, -10, -5, 0, 5, 10, 15, 20 pictures..you’ll see more of a difference). Whatever your sharpest picture is, is your lens’s calibration. My camera allows me to program up to 99 different lenses so every time I put that lens on, it automatically calibrates it.

Whew! Are you still with me? It’s a bit of a process, but I can’t wait to see what a difference it makes! I did it with all three lenses- my Tamron 60mm was sharpest at -14, my Tamron 28-300 was actually sharp right at 0, and my Tokina 10-17mm was sharp at +17.

This is my sharpest ruler photo- this was taken with my Tamron 60mm f/2 (hence the really narrow point of focus)

(And just as a reference- here’s the same setup, but at the opposite end of the spectrum, at +20…notice how the focus point has moved far to the right)

Click It Up A Notch

And while it’s not technically a “selfie” I’m still linking up because she inspired me to get off my duff and get the calibration done!

*And*- I applied to Clickin’ Moms to review an iPhone case for them, and while I was not chosen to review the iPhone case, they did send me an email with a great offer to give away to one of my blog readers. Check back during the upcoming week to see my contest and the great prize they offered me!! It’ll be my first blog giveaway, so I have to work through a few things first, but I hope to have it up and running by early next week!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 22, 2011 in October

 

3 responses to “10.21.11 ~ 294/365

  1. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    October 22, 2011 at 1:29 am

    I didn’t see where I can do this on my camera. I checked the menu and the info(?) hmmmm . . . I will have to investigate some more. I can’t believe your family wasn’t as excited about this as we all are!! How cool you’re having a give away. Is it a trip to Disney??

     
  2. Gretchen

    October 22, 2011 at 2:47 am

    Another thing to figure out… woot! Actually right now, it’ll have to go on the backburner for me, BUT thanks for the info… definitely something to look into!

     
  3. Juli I

    October 22, 2011 at 4:00 am

    Very cool! Thanks for the tip. I’m going to try it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
