RSS

12.16.11 ~ 351/365

17 Dec

I’ve been wanting to try this “beams of light” effect for some time now, but with no Christmas tree up in our house yet, I’ve had to wait. Today, with no picture to post, I finally gave up, bundled up, and went outside to try some “light trails” on one of our outside decorated trees.

Courtney at Click it up a Notch has a great tutorial for creating “beams of light”. Basically, you put your camera on a tripod, zoom into the tree, and set the camera for a long exposure. As the picture is taking, slowly zoom out to create the streaks of light. I did a few using this method…then I tried zooming in and out rapidly…sort of like I was a DJ “scratching” a record (how 80’s is that description? lol) Either way- I kind of like that effect, and I can’t wait to try it on our tree when we get it set up.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 17, 2011 in December

 

4 responses to “12.16.11 ~ 351/365

  1. Gretchen

    December 17, 2011 at 3:13 am

    Oh… I like it! The colors against the blackness is great! The zoom effect I did a couple weeks ago was your second method. Maybe I should try the tripod method. Might be easier… course my kids won’t stand still long enough for that method. Hmm…

     
  2. karren hubrich

    December 17, 2011 at 6:25 am

    i like the colors as well. I need to try this.

     

Leave a Reply

 
