RSS

Lucy and Ethel Strike Again!

09 Jan

Day 8

Lucy and Ethel…aka, Phriend and I, finally went out to take pictures today– it really has been way too long! No crazy adventures today- it was a unseasonably warm January day and we were happy to have the same day off, so we headed down to Wildwood, NJ.
Wildwood is popular beach town in the summer months, but was practically a ghost town today! Wildwood is (not so well) known for being the largest collection of Mid-Century Modern archeteciture in America. Anyone who knows me knows that I LOVE…and I mean LOVE Mid-Century Modern design and archetecture, so I was stoked to go down and take pictures of the vintage hotel signs from the 50’s and 60’s.

I have a bunch of pictures that I’m going to share over the next few days, but I have to start with this one- it is the headquarters of the Doo Wop Perservation League, a group dedicated to preserving and raising awareness on this unique collection of pop culture.
This is an HDR picture of the collection of vintage neon signs outside of their building. After I ran it through the HDR program, I brought it into photoshop and applied a yellow filter at 95%…I was trying to give it a 50’s camera look, and I clearly failed, but I do love the trippy colors it gave it!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Lucy and Ethel Strike Again!

  1. karren hubrich

    January 9, 2012 at 6:02 am

    I like it…it looks almost like a painting.

     
  2. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    January 9, 2012 at 11:50 am

    Dang, I knew I should have gotten out of the car! It looks good, very artsie ~ as always it was great fun. I have my thinking cap on and I’m coming up with some other sites and places we haven’t been. Go warm up the camera, we have 358 + 1 days to go and now that I talked you into modeling for me this year is really looking up!!

     
  3. Gretchen

    January 10, 2012 at 1:45 am

    Love the colors! May not be what you wanted, but it’s one of those fun mistakes!

     

Leave a Reply

 
