RSS

Trippy

23 Jan

Day 22

I’ve been wanting to try this for some time now and my 365 Part 2 was the perfect chance to do it! All it is, is drops of water on the back of a CD. I moved it around until a rainbow of light hit the droplets to make a colorful explosion.
Focusing on water drops is more difficult than one could imagine! I actually had to put this on a tripod, set my aperture for f/16, and then put it on “live view” (where I can use my screen to take the picture). From live view, I was able to digitally zoom in on the picture, manually focus and take the picture from there. I even used the 10 second delay so the camera wouldn’t shake as I pressed the shutter.

All that for one picture! …..Actually 2, because I can’t decide which one I like better.

Linking up to Macro Monday at Lisa’s Chaos.

and
studio waterstone

 
14 Comments

Posted by on January 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

14 responses to “Trippy

  1. kateri

    January 23, 2012 at 1:50 am

    Wow, that is amazing. I would have never guessed what is is. I like the first photo best.

     
  2. karren hubrich

    January 23, 2012 at 2:30 am

    These are both awesome… I see why you could not pick your fave. What a clever and original idea!

     
  3. Trish ~ ♥ ~

    January 23, 2012 at 2:40 am

    sounds like a big set up for one photo ~ but so worth it, it’s awesome

     
  4. Carletta

    January 23, 2012 at 4:42 am

    Oh Wow!
    I will have to try this – really cool.

     
  5. Jaymi McClusky

    January 23, 2012 at 6:22 am

    very creative shot! love the colors you captured!

     
  6. ostranderblog

    January 23, 2012 at 8:01 am

    Macro lenses are so amazing… I’m glad all your time paid off these photos are very “TRIPPY!” ;o)

     
  7. HOOTIN ANNI

    January 23, 2012 at 10:12 am

    Fabulous…fabulous work!!! Well worth the effort ’cause the images dazzle the beholder.

    My post for Monday: LANTANA BLOSSOMS & BERRIES

     
  8. Molly

    January 23, 2012 at 10:32 am

    Great shots and a very interesting experiment. Maybe I might try that one at some point. You really nailed these pictures though so well done.

    Mollyxxx

     
  9. Lori

    January 23, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    Hi there! I love the pics and did receive your email yesterday. I replied but then today saw it’s a “no reply” email. If you’ll send me your name and email address, I’ll add it to your link and put it on the I Heart Macro list. Feel free to do that anytime you have trouble linking up. I just need the direct link to the post, your name and email.

    Thanks and have a great week!
    Lori

     
  10. emily

    January 23, 2012 at 9:41 pm

    Very cool! I bet that would be tough to shoot those water drops.

     
  11. Kala

    January 24, 2012 at 12:49 am

    Very creative shots. The colors are fantastic.

    Happy MM

     
  12. Gretchen

    January 24, 2012 at 2:18 am

    Your shots turned out wonderful!! Always fun to play with water droplets!! You make me want to try again. =)

     
  13. Peter B

    January 24, 2012 at 4:57 am

    Groovy shot!

     
  14. Ida

    January 25, 2012 at 2:10 am

    Wow these are fabulous! I like the 1st one the best. How creative and clever.

     

Leave a Reply

 
