RSS

Half Way to 5K!

04 Mar

Day 63

For the past 3 years, right after New Year’s, I’ve declared that I’m going to train to run a 5K…and for the past three years I have tried, and for the past three years, I have given up before the month’s end.

Well, I am happy to say that I have officially hit the halfway mark in the “Couch to 5K” running program…I am four weeks away from running a 5K! This is officially longer than I’ve ever carried this program before, and now I’m even more determined to see it to the end!

Today I ran for 8 minutes straight without stopping (just over 3/4 of a mile) twice, only walking for 5 minutes between each set of 8 minutes running. I still can’t believe how far I’ve gotten! My inital goal was to run a mile by spring break and a 5K before the end of the school year, but it looks like I’ll be up to a mile by next week, and possibly up to a 5K by spring break! Spring break is just about a month away, so we’ll see how that goes!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Half Way to 5K!

  1. karren hubrich

    March 4, 2012 at 4:40 am

    Congratulations! I have got to hand it to you.

     
  2. "Mikey"

    March 4, 2012 at 11:39 pm

    I support you no matter what! I know you can do this, and I believe you will run your first 5k in the very near future!

     

Leave a Reply

 
