RSS

Meers Burger

13 Apr

Day 103

I just love “Roadside America” (All the strange little oddities you find along the road– you know, the world’s largest ball of twine, a giant bottle of mustard, etc), so when I first found out I was going to be visiting Oklahoma, I went to the Roadside America website and searched out some interesting things to go visit…and I must admit…there wasn’t much. But, there was one item that caught my attention- Meers Burger. I vaguely remember seeing it on Diners, Drive-In’s and Dives, and remembered that they’re known for their Longhorn Burgers.

My boyfriend had the day off, so we drove the hour or so to get to it. On the way, we went through a buffalo reserve, and there wasn’t many buffalo out, but I did spot these two!

A few minutes later, we arrived…at this.

The old building (it used to be the town’s post office) just begged to be photographed in HDR

Do I look scared to eat here? Because at this point…I was…lol

Once we got inside, I was fascinated. The place is indescribable…but I’ll try to let the pictures do the talking.

Even though it looks like it should be condemned…and I wondered how it passed health inspection (lol)…it was definitely one delicious burger! They bill themselves as one of the few places left in the country that raise their own grass-fed longhorn cattle to use in the restaurant– and while it does disturb me to think of that (sad face!), those thoughts flew out of my head when I saw this…

(the sheer size of it was probably why it was on Diners Drive-In’s and Dives!) It was amazing!

What better completes dinner than a gorgeous sunset?

And one last random picture- we passed this by on the way to Meers Burger, and I love old signs, so I had to stop to take a picture!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Meers Burger

  1. Simple Life at the Shore

    April 14, 2012 at 10:02 am

    Holy Cow! I thought the place was deserted from the first picture. Did you really eat in there? Just kidding. The photos DO tell the picture. Looks like a wonderful trip. I need to try that HDR soon.

     
  2. Bren Bolster

    November 20, 2013 at 5:19 pm

    I was at Meers in the restroom many years ago, when a tornado swept through and the lights went out. I opened the bathroom door and a mouse ran across the floor… ewe

     

Leave a Reply

 
