RSS

Hiking….and a Surprise!

27 May

After the wedding, my boyfriend and I stayed over because he suggested spending our Sunday going hiking up a mountain that wasn’t too far away.  So this morning, we got up way to early (well….way too early for the morning after a wedding) and headed up to Mt. Tammany in northwestern NJ.  The summit of the mountain looks over the Delaware Water Gap and into PA.  It was my first time hiking, and it was a semi-challenging climb (about 3.5 miles to a height of 1500 feet and mostly rocks) but I’m always up for a good challenge, and my boyfriend was very encouraging.  I actually climbed with my SLR (and two lenses!) because I knew the view from the top would be worth the weight of the camera.

Wouldn’t be me if I didn’t get a starburst!

It was so hard to get a picture of just how steep and rocky this climb was!

It had rained the night before, and that plus the humidity made the rocks slippery and the ground fairly muddy, but I’m proud to say I never fell!  All along the way, my boyfriend kept saying “Don’t worry– it’ll be worth it when we get to the top”

He wasn’t kidding!

Me doing what I do best– taking pictures!

After we soaked up our surroundings at the summit, (and took a few hundred pictures), I noticed my boyfriend wasn’t feeling well– he was sweating and shaking.  I made him eat some pretzels (it was the only food we brought up the mountain!), but he still wasn’t feeling better.  He suggested we go off to the side, where we could still see the area around us, but were in the shade.  Once we got over there, he started looking at me, and before I knew it…..

He proposed to me!

Funny story about the above picture– there were about 15-20 people at the overlook area, and one guy watched him propose, and after I said yes, grabbed my camera and goes “let me take a picture of you guys– this is going to be a moment you won’t want to forget!” so he snapped a few pictures of us, and when my boyfriend fiance stood up, everyone who was on the overlook area clapped for us.  It was so cute 🙂

Didn’t he do a good job?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Hiking….and a Surprise!

  1. Simple Life at the Shore

    May 28, 2012 at 11:04 pm

    I can’t believe you have never been hiking! Good thing you started now if you plan to go out west. So much exploring to do. That was so nice of the man to grab your camera at that special time. Some people don’t know how to handle an SLR. That area near the Delaware Water Gap is very scenic. Nice shots! I am still smiling over your news and photo story!

     
  2. "Mikey"

    May 29, 2012 at 3:23 am

    This gentleman sounds…well, like a great guy 🙂 These pictures are excellent and I love this post! ❤

     

Leave a Reply

 
