RSS

Calligraphy

02 Sep

Today my mom and I took a calligraphy class in hopes of making my wedding envelopes look all fancy. My mom has done calligraphy for a long time, but I’ve never been able to master it (it doesn’t help that a college professor told me that I couldn’t take her calligraphy class nor would I ever be able to do it because I was left handed). Our instructor taught us “copperplate script” which is a very ornate style of calligraphy. After our 5 hour class, we are nowhere near perfect, but with a little bit of practice I’m sure we can do it!
Here’s my practice sheet from the class, along with my pen with the 108 year old tip. (literally- our instructor came across an estate sale of an old printing company and bought out the stock- the boxes that these came in were sooo cool! I wish I got a picture of them!)

20120902-211251.jpg

This was the instructors work (not mine!) but it better shows what we’re working toward.

20120902-211458.jpg

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 2, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Calligraphy

  1. Simple Life at the Shore

    September 3, 2012 at 9:09 am

    Very nice! I am sure they will be beautiful, and so original.

     
  2. Ida P. Krause

    September 3, 2012 at 9:23 pm

    Calligraphy always looks so beautiful and fancy. If you do a Google search you will find that you can buy Left-Handed calligraphy pens. I’m left handed and have used these type of pens before and they work just fine.

     

Leave a Reply

 
