RSS

Sewing the Day Away…

17 Sep

Back in the day (like 5 years ago) I was a sewing fiend. My sewing machine never went a week without being used at least once- but over the past few years I’ve gone into other crafts, and photography, and the machine has gotten less and less use. Over the past few weeks, I’ve been working that machine like…well, a machine! I’ve made decorative pillows for my fiancé, some lounging pants, and a few other things, but today was the pinnacle of my sewing experience. I finally tackled a project I’ve been wanting to make for years- a pattern for an overnight bag. It doesn’t sound daunting but google “Amy Butler Weekender Bag” and read the accounts of those who have gone before me. This pattern is the holy grail of sewing- if you can do it, you can sew anything! This bag/suitcase contains many layers of fabric to make it stiff, which makes it nearly impossible to sew. But I was up to the challenge.
After spending a good part of yesterday cutting (this bag has 53 pieces….) I finally began sewing today. And while I’m not done, I have broken 3 sewing machine needles, bent countless straight pins and even broke my sewing machine (long story…)
Needless to say, I’m not done, but here’s a collage of some pictures I took while sewing (and yes- those are clothespins holding my fabric together- its too fat to pin!)

20120918-221605.jpg

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Sewing the Day Away…

  1. Leah

    September 19, 2012 at 2:28 am

    Quite a feat, congratulations!…..Makes me want to bring my sewing machine out and try my hand at sewing a bag. I can appreciate how hard you worked at……..Leah

     
    • sewin2disney

      September 19, 2012 at 2:37 pm

      Yay! I was so excited to see a comment from you! I can’t wait to show off the finished product!

       
  2. Simple Life at the Shore

    September 19, 2012 at 10:17 am

    I am sure it will be gorgeous when you finish. Must be so nice to have the extra time to do the things you really enjoy. I just got an old, beautiful looking, Singer from my husband’s parents (you saw the picture). Just have to remember how to work it! Haven’t touched one in many years. Happy Sewing! Great colors.

     
    • sewin2disney

      September 19, 2012 at 2:37 pm

      OOoohh– I’m glad you kept the treadle machine- don’t ever get rid of it! I’m sure once you sit down, you’ll remember how to use it– it’s like riding a bike, you never really forget!

       

Leave a Reply

 
