RSS

NJ Governor Christie

21 Nov

Ever since Hurricane Sandy, the Governor of NJ has been gaining national attention for how well he handled running the state before, during and after the hurricane.  He has handled things with his “Jersey attitude” (one of his famous quotes from the storm being “if it looks stupid, it probably is!”), and is known for remaining down to earth as he travels around the state assessing the damage.

Today, Lowes stores up and down the shore partnered with Boston Market and handed out frozen ‘heat and serve’ Thanksgiving dinners for 6 in the Lowes parking lots (I think I read that they handed out over 30,000 today).  We did not need one, but we had heard that our Governor, Chris Christie would be making an appearance at our local Lowes, so I grabbed my camera and headed over.  He arrived by helicopter, spoke to the crowd, took some questions from the press, and much to our surprise, stayed to hand out the bags of meals to all the people waiting.

One thing our Governor keeps talking about in his press conferences is how much he misses the seaside boardwalk and amusement piers.  Since I have many photographs of both, and I have been selling them, I grabbed an 8×10 picture of his favorite amusement pier, along with one of my “jersey strong” bracelets that I have been making.  After most everyone had gotten their Thanksgiving meal, I got into line and gave him the photograph, and gave his wife the bracelet.  I told him that he’s done so much for us, that this was a little something for him. He was so pleased that he leaned over to give me a hug, and then stopped for a picture with me as well.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 21, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “NJ Governor Christie

  1. Simple Life at the Shore

    November 21, 2012 at 10:16 pm

    Dana, that is GREAT! The gifts you gave them were SO thoughtful. Bob and I both think our Governor has done a great job through this. I am so happy you got to meet him. Excellent!

     
  2. tmoorephotography

    November 22, 2012 at 1:08 am

    that’s wonderful, bet he loved the photo

     

Leave a Reply

 
